Sapped and stupid I lie upon the stones and I swoons
The darling little dandelions have done their thing and changed from suns into moons
The dragons roam the shopping malls, I hear they’re gonna eat our guts
If I had the strength I might pick up my sword and make some attempt to resist
.

Absolute genius. Who said this? Check it out.

That man is a bad, black, bleak and belligerent balladeer. I bought the last album when it came out and (blush) thought it wasn’t all that good. At least I’m honest. Obviously, I have matured since then…..Indulge me in another moment of hero-worship:

You race naked through the wilderness
You torment the birds and the bees
You leapt into the abyss, but find
It only goes up to your knees
I move stealthily from tree to tree
I shadow you for hours
I make like I’m a little deer
Grazing on the flowers

Everything is collapsing, dear
All moral sense has gone
It’s just history repeating itself
And babe, you turn me on.

(listen here)

We’re going to hear soon who our next Poet Laureate will be. I like Carol Ann Duffy and Simon Armitage, but the tradition of tale-telling through rhythm, through performance ain’t with those guys, it’s guys like this. Nominations, anyone?

